Begin with Jokes


I have seen experienced drivers praying before beginning on their yet another long drive. I have noticed that when the music is blaring through the stereo speakers inside the car the wind gushing past outside the car’s window, suddenly the driver’s lips move and his hand rises to touch his forehead and chest in prayer.

When you sit before the computer what do you do before beginning your journey in to the world wide web? Do you check the clock? Do you mutter about all those things that are waiting to be finished? Or do you first check email?

It could be any of these things or something else. What I do is type the word, ‘jokes’ or ‘one liner’ in Google and savor the humor to get a refreshing feeling even before my web page opens for due attention. The web page of jokes are just beside my working page and I feel better, almost reassured. If I ask myself, ” How does it refresh you, or stir a cheer in you?” I think it is because the joke makes you see a dire situation in a totally different way and leaves a feeling of joy trailing behind you. Let the scientists debate whether animals have or do not have sense of humor, which is a unique and desirable characteristic of the homo sapien, I abandon myself to relish the ‘ha, ha’ or the ‘mute smile, that emanates as I read the jokes.

I am amused that the one liner I find at
http://www.oneliners-and-proverbs.com/W2_whe-whi.html
is as big as this one.

When things go wrong as they sometimes will,
When the road your trudging seems all uphill,
When the funds are low and the debts are high,
And you want to smile but you have to sigh,
When care is pressing you down a bit
Rest if you must, but don’t you quit.
Success is failure turned inside out,
The silver tint on the clouds of doubt,
And you can never tell hoe close you are,
It may be near when it seems afar.
So, stick to the fight when your hardest hit
It’s when things go wrong that you mustn’t quit.

This one related to my profession did turn up a smile on my face though I was not reading it for the first time:

When they say Doctors are practicing, they aren’t kidding.

I meet Erma Bombeck as I read this:
When I stand before God at the end of my life, I would hope that I would not have a single bit of talent left, and could say, “I used everything You gave me.” (Erma Bombeck)
and
I meet William Temple when I read this quote
When I pray, coincidences happen, and when I don’t pray, they don’t. (William Temple)

Who can speak so powerfully about handicaps than Helen Keller?
When one door of happiness closes, another opens: but often we look so long at the closed door that we do not see the one which has been opened for us. (Helen Keller)

This one from Henry Ford has a powerful punch,
When everything seems to be going against you, remember the airplane takes off against the wind, not with it. (Henry Ford)

When alive, young and agile, talk of death is rot. Nonetheless, I persuaded myself to read along to find this:

When I die, I want to go peacefully like my grandfather did–in his sleep.
Not screaming like the passengers in his car.

Yes, and I wish Doug Belknap & Chad Goodwin, had whispered in my ear during my Obstetrics viva why new born are spanked. This is what they say:
When a friend asked his six-year-old brother why babies are spanked when they are born, the youngster replied, “To get them used to it. (Doug Belknap & Chad Goodwin)

Hey! Spare a moment. Tell us how you liked the blog. Leave your Compliments, Comments, Suggestions. We value your presence here.

